RELEASE: ArtsNL Professional Project Grants: Fall 2022

Dec 1, 2022


ArtsNL Professional Project Grants: Fall 2022

December 1, 2022 (St. John’s, NL) – ArtsNL has invested $1,098,199 in 101 artistic projects through its Professional Project Grants Program (PPGP). Funding for this program is provided through the annual contribution of $5 million from the Provincial Government to ArtsNL for granting programs, program delivery, operations, and communications.

“This is historically the highest number of applications ArtsNL has received for a fall round of PPGP,” says Melanie Martin, Executive Director. “The sheer creative quality and critical planning expressed in these applications from professional artists is exceptional and makes for a very competitive process across all disciplines. ArtsNL’s investment in professional artists allows the creation of quality work that benefits all Newfoundlanders and Labradorians, and greatly contributes to the provincial economy.”

The successful applicants for 2022-23 are:


Candice Pike Barry (Corner Brook) $11,250
Robyn Breen (St. John’s) $4,275
Jenn Edwards (Labrador City) $13,651
Joshua Murphy (St. John’s) $8,166
Sarah Stoker (Holyrood) $4,125



Alexa Jerrett (St. John’s) $6,000
Shara Desiree King (St. John’s) $5,997
Christopher Newell (St. John’s) $4,500
Lynn Panting (St. John’s) $6,000
Mekia Pembleton & Nathalie Javault (St. John’s) $5,998


Stephen Bonnell (Clarenville) $4,557
Martine Blue (Epworth) $15,000
Evan Butler (Barachois Brook) $8,740
Tony Butt (Flatrock) $15,000
Andrea Cass (St. John’s) $10,576
Patrick Condon (Gander) $15,000
Kerry Gamberg (Mobile) $14,566
Brad Gover (St. John’s) $15,000
Renée Hackett (St. Bernard’s) $14,900
Natalia Hennelly (St. John’s) $6,000
Michael Hickey (St. John’s) $15,000
Michael Simms (St. John’s) $8,350



Heather Rumancik (St. John’s) $6,000



Anita Best (Norris Arm) $14,790
Violet Drake (St. John’s) $15,000
Shan Pomeroy (St. John’s) $5,331



Ife Alaba (St. John’s) $5,980
Kelsey Arsenault (St. John’s) $6,000
Jessica Bemister (CBS) $6,000
Hannah Green (St. John’s) $5,239
Alexis Hicks (St. John’s) $5,744
David Kerr (St. John’s) $3,000
Paige Penney (St. John’s) $6,000
Joshua Roberts (St. John’s) $5,430



Don Boland (Paradise) $14,649
Selina Boland (St. John’s) $9,941
Maria Cherwick (St. John’s) $6,000
Amelia Curran (St. John’s) $14,850
Elita (St. John’s) $15,000
Michael Fisher (South River) $5,265
Virginia Fudge (St. John’s) $15,000
Farai Gwasira (St. John’s) $14,330
Matthew Hender (CBS) $15,000
Florian Hoefner (St. John’s) $15,000
Lorna Lovell (Corner Brook) $15,000
Randy Matthews (Flatrock) $15,000
Pamela Morgan (St. John’s) $15,000
Kirk Newhook (Torbay) $15,000
Ptarmageddon (Wabush) $15,000
Rum Ragged (Steady Brook) $15,000
Gavin Simms (St. John’s) $10,000
Zulpakar Zulpakar (St. John’s) $15,000



Sharon Bala (St. John’s) $6,000
Russell Cochrane (St. John’s) $6,000



Robert Chafe (St. John’s) $11,500
Stephanie Curran (St. John’s) $7,125
Azal Dosanjh (St. John’s) $14,646
Mallory Fisher (St. John’s) $13,500
Santiago Guzman (St. John’s) $15,000
Darren Ivany (St. John’s) $7,200
Rory Lambert (St. John’s) $11,500
Tara Manuel (Corner Brook) $13,500
Lorne Pardy (Corner Brook) $13,146
Jamie Skidmore (St. John’s) $13,146
Erika Squires (St. John’s) $14,535



Nora de Mariaffi (St. John’s) $6,000
Lauren Hodder (Port Rexton) $6,000
Christine Wight (St. John’s) $6,000



Jennifer Mira Ackerman (English Harbour) $6,060
Kelly Jane Bruton (St. John’s) $10,500
Michael Connolly (St. John’s) $14,322
Michael Flaherty (Port Union) $5,500
Will Gill (St. John’s) $13,240
Jose González (English Harbour) $5,000
Stan Hill (Conne River) $12,229
Robyn Love (Gillams) $15,000
Tessa May (Pasadena) $15,000
Ethan Murphy (St. John’s) $15,000
John McDonald (Maddox Cove) $14,596
Jennifer Morgan (St. John’s) $10,500
Michael Pittman (Grand Falls-Windsor) $15,000
Mitzi Smith (Pouch Cove) $10,500
Kumi Stoddart (St. John’s) $11,250



Cathia Finkel (St. John’s) $6,000
Michael Hammond (St. John’s) $6,000
Lily McCarthy (Tors Cove) $6,000



Amanda Bulman (St. John’s) $13,090
Megan Gail Coles (St. John’s) $15,000
Gail Collins (Dover) $15,000
Terry Doyle (St. John’s) $15,000
Collin Glavac (St. John’s) $13,113
Katherine Alexandra Harvey (St. John’s) $13,113
Matthew Hollett (St. John’s) $15,000
Matthew LeDrew (Norman’s Cove) $15,000
Trudy Morgan-Cole (St. John’s) $15,000
Heather Nolan (St. John’s) $14,560
Wallace Ryan (St. John’s) $13,968
Sara Tilley (St. John’s) $15,000
Douglas Walbourne-Gough (Corner Brook) $14,960
Marian Frances White (St. John’s) $10,700
Heidi Wicks (St. John’s) $6,000

The Professional Project Grants Program provides grants for artistic projects involving creation, production, or professional development. Practicing artists and groups working in dance, film, multidiscipline arts, music, theatre, visual arts, and writing are welcome to apply for funding. Grants are awarded through a competitive application process and applications are assessed by committees of artistic peers who have expertise in the relevant artistic disciplines.

The PPGP has two grant deadlines a year: one in the spring and one in the fall. The next deadline for the program will be Wednesday, March 15, 2023, and applications can be submitted via ArtsNL’s Online Application System.

Media enquiries:
Charlene Jackson
Communications Officer

The Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council (now known as ArtsNL) is a non-profit Crown agency created in 1980 by The Arts Council Act. Its mission is to foster and promote the creation and enjoyment of the arts for the benefit of all Newfoundlanders and Labradorians. The Council is governed by a volunteer board of 13 appointed by government, reflecting regional representation of the province. This includes 10 professional artists who provide sectoral representation of the arts community; two community representatives (with an interest in the arts); and one representative of the Department of Tourism, Culture, Arts and Recreation (non-voting). ArtsNL receives an annual allocation of $5.2 million from the Province to support a variety of granting programs, program delivery, office administration, and communications. It also seeks support from the public and private sector. It supports the following artistic disciplines: dance, film, multidiscipline, music, theatre, visual art, and writing.


Apply Online

Gain access to grants, awards, and more.
Learn More