RELEASE: Long list announced for 38th Annual Arts Awards

May 16, 2023


May 16, 2023 (St. John’s, NL) – ArtsNL is pleased to announce the long list for the 38th Annual Arts Awards.

Throughout the last three years, the global pandemic has upended the lives of artists, leaving an indelible mark on us all. ArtsNL remains steadfast in its support for the cultural sector, and we are delighted to announce the return of the 38th Annual Arts Awards live show at the Stephenville Arts and Culture Centre on Friday, June 23, 2023.

“We’re so pleased to be working with the ArtsNL team to host the 38th Annual Arts Awards show right here in Stephenville,” says Stephenville Mayor, Tom Rose. “The west coast is steeped in art and culture, and we’re looking forward to welcoming you all here in June to experience it.”

“We are thrilled to be working closely with the municipality of Stephenville this year, as well as representatives from across the western region to host an in-person show,” says Executive Director, Melanie Martin. “Nothing compares to the energy of live performance. We’ve put together a great lineup so come on out and celebrate with us!”

“Being recognized by your peers for your artistic accomplishments and achievements is so important in an artist’s journey,” says ArtsNL chair, Don Dunphy. “We’re happy to be hosting the awards in Stephenville this year and getting the opportunity to showcase some incredible west coast talent.”

This annual event is a celebration of the arts in Newfoundland and Labrador. Artists of all disciplines are recognized through the presentation of six awards.

Patron of the Arts Award – Recognizes a person, business, or organization that has demonstrated an ongoing commitment to the arts in Newfoundland and Labrador through innovative, community, or sustained support of artistic activity. The nominees are:

  • Jonathan Rose
  • St. Michael’s Printshop
  • Susan Sherk
  • Kathryn Taylor Musseau

Emerging Artist Award – Recognizes new and undisputed talent. It is awarded to an emerging artist, group, or arts organization that has earned significant recognition for their professional artistic practice. The nominees are:

  • Ana & Eric
  • Shazia Ahmad
  • Summer Bennett
  • Jessica Brown
  • Cullam Bruce-Lockhart
  • Ting Ting Chen
  • Michelle Churchill
  • Rachel Cousins
  • Hannah Drover
  • Jackie Evans
  • Justin Fancy
  • Kaeleigh Fitzgerald
  • Adam Foran
  • Leahdawn Helena
  • Natalie Higdon
  • Daze Jefferies
  • Margie Lewis
  • Kellyann Marie
  • William Ping
  • Dakota Russell
  • Megan Samms
  • Brad Simmonds
  • Susan Traverse-Delaney
  • Jing Xia


Arts in Education Award – Recognizes an artist who has made an outstanding contribution to arts in education in Newfoundland and Labrador over a number of years. The nominees are:

  • Rod F. Beck
  • Brad Gover
  • Julie Lewis
  • Lynn Panting
  • Anne Pickard-Vaandering
  • Monika Rumbolt


Hall of Honour Award – Recognizes a person, group, or organization that has made a distinguished lifetime contribution to the cultural life of Newfoundland and Labrador. The nominees are:

  • Peter MacDonald Productions
  • Susan Sherk


Artist Achievement Award – Given annually to a practicing artist who has made an outstanding contribution to the cultural life of Newfoundland and Labrador over a number of years. The nominees are:

  • Gary Collins
  • Justin Fancy
  • Denise Hynes
  • Shirley Moorhouse
  • Dave Penny
  • Wallace Ryan


Artist of the Year Award – Recognizes the art or activity of a person, group, or organization that has made an outstanding contribution to the cultural life of Newfoundland and Labrador in 2022. The nominees are:

  • Ting Ting Chen
  • Rachel Cousins
  • Justin Fancy
  • Reilly Fitzgerald
  • Ian Foster
  • Margie Lewis
  • Meagan Musseau
  • Justin Oakey
  • Dave Penny
  • PerSIStence Theatre
  • Megan Samms
  • Melissa Tremblett


A multidisciplinary selection committee will select the winners for each of the six awards. A list of finalists in each category will also be announced.

This year’s awards show will take place on Friday, June 23, 2023, at 7:00 p.m. NT at the Arts and Culture Centre in Stephenville, NL. Tickets are $10 and are available at the ACC box office. The show will also be available via a free livestream, and more details will be announced at a later date.

More information about the Arts Awards, including nomination criteria, is available on the ArtsNL website.

Media enquiries:
Charlene Jackson
Communications Officer

The Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council (now known as ArtsNL) is a non-profit Crown agency created in 1980 by The Arts Council Act. Its mission is to foster and promote the creation and enjoyment of the arts for the benefit of all Newfoundlanders and Labradorians. The Council is governed by a volunteer board of 13 appointed by government, reflecting regional representation of the province. This includes 10 professional artists who provide sectoral representation of the arts community; two community representatives (with an interest in the arts); and one representative of the Department of Tourism, Culture, Arts and Recreation (non-voting). ArtsNL receives an annual allocation of $5 million from the Province to support a variety of granting programs, program delivery, office administration, and communications. It also seeks support from the public and private sector. It supports the following artistic disciplines: dance, film, multidiscipline, music, theatre, visual art, and writing.


Apply Online

Gain access to grants, awards, and more.
Learn More