RELEASE: Long list announced for 2021 BMO Winterset Award

Feb 18, 2022


February 18, 2022 (St. John’s, NL) – ArtsNL is pleased to announce the 2021 BMO Winterset Award long list. This award celebrates excellence in Newfoundland and Labrador writing.

The six-title long list includes:

    • Aimee Wall, We, Jane (Book*hug Press), Toronto, ON
    • Olivia Robinson, The Blue Moth Motel (Breakwater Books), St. John’s, NL
    • Carmella Gray-Cosgrove, Nowadays and Lonelier (Arsenal Pulp Press), Vancouver, BC
    • Paul David Power, Crippled (Breakwater Books), St. John’s, NL
    • Mi’sel Joe & Sheila O’Neill, My Indian (Breakwater Books), St. John’s, NL
    • Claire Wilkshire, The Love Olympics (Breakwater Books), St. John’s, NL

The BMO Winterset Award is supported through a partnership between BMO Financial Group, ArtsNL, and the Sandra Fraser Gwyn Foundation and celebrates Newfoundland and Labrador writers. The award was first established in 2000 to commemorate the life of St. John’s-born social historian, Sandra Fraser Gwyn O.C.—wife of Canadian journalist and author, Richard Gwyn O.C.—who spent a great deal of her life promoting national awareness of the province’s arts.

The BMO Winterset Award exists largely due to the generous, ongoing support of the BMO Financial Group. The award, managed by ArtsNL, seeks to reward excellence across all genres and, this year, 35 entries were received.

To be considered for Newfoundland and Labrador’s most prominent literary award, entries must be written by Newfoundland and Labrador-born authors or residents. Entries may span all genres, including fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, and children’s books. The winner receives $12,500 and each finalist receives $3,000.

Media enquiries:
Charlene Jackson
Communications Officer, ArtsNL


The Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council (now known as ArtsNL) is a non-profit Crown agency created in 1980 by The Arts Council Act. Its mission is to foster and promote the creation and enjoyment of the arts for the benefit of all Newfoundlanders and Labradorians. The Council is governed by a volunteer board of 13 appointed by government, reflecting regional representation of the province. This includes 10 professional artists who provide sectoral representation of the arts community; two community representatives (with an interest in the arts); and one representative of the Department of Tourism, Culture, Arts and Recreation (non-voting). ArtsNL receives an annual allocation of $5 million from the Province to support a variety of granting programs, program delivery, office administration, and communications. It also seeks support from the public and private sector. It supports the following artistic disciplines: dance, film, multidiscipline, music, theatre, visual art, and writing.


Apply Online

Gain access to grants, awards, and more.
Learn More