RELEASE: ArtsNL Professional Project Grants: Fall 2023

Jan 29, 2024


January 29, 2024 (St. John’s, NL) – ArtsNL has invested $1,362,951 in 107 artistic projects through its Professional Project Grants Program (PPGP). Funding for this program is provided through the annual contribution of $5.2 million from the Provincial Government to ArtsNL to administer grant programs and undertake operations and communications.

“The demand from professional artists applying for grants has been steadily increasing for about two years, so we’ve been seeing the need for our programs now more than ever. The volume of applications and subsequent correspondence we received during the fall round of PPGP was nothing short of an explosion. The team worked hard and got all the applications processed and assessed before Christmas,” says Melanie Martin, Executive Director of ArtsNL. “Funding requests totalled $4,473,178 from 315 applicants. Year of the Arts funding allowed for the investment of an additional $520,000 into this PPGP funding cycle. ArtsNL also introduced the Adaptation category to encourage the adaptation of Newfoundland and Labrador literature to film, television, theatre, opera, or multidisciplinary platforms.”

The successful applicants for 2023-24 are:


Wendell Collier (St. John’s) $19,991
Sherry White (Portugal Cove-St. Philip’s) $19,000



Hilary Knee (Corner Brook) $12,243
Joshua Murphy (St. John’s) $9,450



Jessica Brown (St. John’s) $6,720
Stacy Gardner (St. John’s) $6,720
Heather Huybregts (Corner Brook) $6,720
Alexa Jerrett (St. John’s) $6,720
Jennifer Johnson (St. John’s) $6,720
Lorne Warr (Trepassey) $6,720



Rhonda Buckley (St. John’s) $20,000
Renée Hackett (St. Bernard’s) $20,000
Elizabeth Hicks (Carbonear) $20,000
Geoffrey Lewis (St. John’s) $20,000
Justin Oakey (Petty Harbour) $14,500
Tamara Segura Gonzalez (St. John’s) $20,000
Anna Wheeler (St. John’s) $20,000



Sophie Angnatok (St. John’s) $8,000



The Ballast Collective (St. John’s) $20,000
Violet Drake (St. John’s) $17,033
Rebecca Nolan (Maddox Cove) $20,000
Megan Samms (Katalisk) $20,000



Baraka Abayo (St. John’s) $8,000
Saltwater Brass (St. John’s) $5,912
Joshua Roberts (St. John’s) $7,480
Darcy Scott (Conception Bay South) $8,000



Duane Andrews (St. John’s) $15,000
Tim Baker (St. John’s) $15,000
Jason Benoit (Fox Island River) $7,500
Natasha Blackwood (St. John’s) $14,743.84
Bill Brennan (St. John’s) $12,129
Rachel Cousins (Portugal Cove-St. Philip’s) $15,000
Amelia Curran (St. John’s) $15,000
Duo Concertante (St. John’s) $8,919
Damian Follett (Paradise) $15,000
Florian Hoefner (St. John’s) $15,000
Louise Gauthier (Corner Brook) $14,918.46
Mallory Johnson (Conception Bay South) $15,000
Jenina MacGillivray (St. John’s) $13,245
Stephan Maloney (St. John’s) $12,376.56
Pamela Morgan (St. John’s) $15,000
Kate Read (St. John’s) $15,000
Vernon Regehr (St. John’s) $8,604.14
Rum Ragged (Steady Brook) $5,310
Evan Smith (St. John’s) $14,250
Kathy Stock (Torbay) $4,130
Jim Vivian (St. John’s) $15,000



Jude Benoit Cutler (St. John’s) $8,000
Cheney Emberg (St. John’s) $8,000
Sobia Shaheen Shaikh (St. John’s) $8,000



Lois Brown (St. John’s) $20,000
Mallory Clarke (English Harbour) $20,000
Azal Dosanjh (St. John’s) $20,000
Tara Manuel (Corner Brook) $19,552
Paul Power (St. John’s) $18,100
Jodee Richardson (St. John’s) $19,895
Sara Tilley (Happy Valley-Goose Bay) $20,000
Charlie Tomlinson (St. John’s) $18,343



Ting Ting Chen (St. John’s) $6,000
Georgia Dawkin (St. John’s) $5,990
Natalie Higdon (St. John’s) $6,000
Charlotte May Hobden (St. John’s) $6,000
Lauren Hodder (St. John’s) $6,000
Megan Holdfast (Frederick) (Little Rapids) $2,328
Megan Hutchings (Paradise) $6,000
Joseph Kade (St. John’s) $5,000
Denika Kelly (Pasadena) $5,325
Bethany MacKenzie (Bonavista) $6,000



Ignatius Baker (St. John’s) $14,993
Hazel May Eckert (St. John’s) $15,000
Will Gill (St. John’s) $15,000
Beck Gilmer-Osborne (St. John’s) $15,000
Kym Greeley (St. John’s) $14,604
Jason Holley (Twillingate) $9,000
Marc Losier (Corner Brook) $12,810
Tessa May (Pasadena) $15,000
Ethan Murphy (St. John’s) $15,000
Julie Oh (Maberly/Elliston) $14,999
Michael Pittman (Grand Falls-Windsor) $15,000
Shan Pomeroy (St. John’s) $5,105
Nicole Sleeth (Carbonear) $15,000
Amber-Lynn Thorne (Harbour Main) $15,000
Melissa Tremblett (Corner Brook) $13,292
Laurence Weyand (Corner Brook) $13,516
Nelson White (St. John’s) $15,000



Molly Clarke (Paradise) $4,685
Lori Savory (St. John’s) $6,520
Kristina Stocks-Heath (Conception Bay South) $6,520
Sarah Worthman (St. John’s) $5,920



Sharon Bala (St. John’s) $15,000
Mark Callanan (St. John’s) $14,604
Megan Gail Coles (St. John’s) $15,000
Eva Crocker (St. John’s) $11,625
Allie Duff (St. John’s) $16,104
Alison Dyer (St. John’s) $6,831
Katherine Alexandra Harvey (St. John’s) $15,000
Matthew Hollett (St. John’s) $14,850
Hannah Jenkins (Corner Brook) $15,000
Ed Kavanagh (Mount Pearl) $15,000
Willow Kean (St. John’s) $15,000
Wesley King (Port au Port East) $15,000
Kevin Major (St. John’s) $13,500
Trudy Morgan-Cole (St. John’s) $15,000
George Murray (St. John’s) $15,000
William Ping (St. John’s) $15,000
Douglas Walbourne-Gough (Corner Brook) $14,865
Ava Woolf (Harbour Grace) $15,000


The Professional Project Grants Program provides grants for artistic projects involving creation, production, or professional development. Practicing artists and groups working in dance, film, multidiscipline arts, music, theatre, visual arts, and writing are welcome to apply for funding. Grants are awarded through a competitive application process, and assessed by a peer assessment committee, which is comprised of individuals with expertise in the relevant artistic disciplines.

The PPGP has two grant deadlines a year: one in the spring and one in the fall. The next deadline for the program will be Friday, March 15, 2024, and applications can be submitted via ArtsNL’s Online Application System.

Media enquiries:
Charlene Jackson
Communications Officer
(709) 726-2212 ext. 3
1 (866) 726-2212 ext. 3 (Toll-free, NL only)


The Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council (now known as ArtsNL) is a non-profit Crown agency created in 1980 by The Arts Council Act. Its mission is to foster and promote the creation and enjoyment of the arts for the benefit of all Newfoundlanders and Labradorians. The Council is governed by a volunteer board of 13 appointed by government, reflecting regional representation of the province. This includes 10 professional artists who provide sectoral representation of the arts community; two community representatives (with an interest in the arts); and one representative of the Department of Tourism, Culture, Arts and Recreation (non-voting). ArtsNL receives an annual allocation of $5.2 million from the Province to support a variety of granting programs, program delivery, office administration, and communications. It also seeks support from the public and private sector. It supports the following artistic disciplines: dance, film, multidiscipline, music, theatre, visual art, and writing.


Apply Online

Gain access to grants, awards, and more.
Learn More